Why “The Auridium Harp?”

I wrote “The Auridium Harp” back in 2019, in Ben Gurion Airport. I started when I arrived, put the story on pause to enjoy Israel and Palestine, and finished two weeks later as I was waiting to board my flight back to the United States.

“The Auridium Harp” was the first story I posted to this website. It seems to fit. In the story, the harp is used as an instrument of life: to heal wounds, bring joy, soften bluntness, and blunt sharpness. My goal for this blog is that it would contribute to healing wounds and rifts, bringing joy, soften the sharp edges of the world while strengthening its vitality.

“The Auridium Harp” is also fitting because these accomplishments will not be under my own power. “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me” (Galatians 2:20). We are the clay, He is the potter. Or to put it another way: He is the musician, and we are the instruments.

By the grace of God, He will work through me as though I were an Auridium harp, to bring joy to those in mourning and to confront those who are erring (Galatians 2:14). I am but a vessel in His hands.


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started